Skip to main content

Statehood Day in Oklahoma: Madill Carves Out Niche in State's History

Posted Date: 11/16/2022

Statehood Day in Oklahoma: Madill Carves Out Niche in State's History

On this day (Nov. 16) in 1907, Oklahoma became the 46th state in America.

Marshall County once was home to as many 46 school districts and has only two in 2022. It is the only county in the state with only two schools districts. The rest of the counties contain more.

Madill has been a vital part of that history. It serves as the county seat in the smallest county of the 77.

Madill High School was established in 1909 and graduated the first class in 1911. 

Madill High School sports has earned 16 team state titles through the decades of competition.

Madill’s girls cross country team can boast of the most. They won in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2009.

The boys cross country team took three straight titles from from 2006-2008. The girls track club has taken gold in 1983, 1986 and 1988.

The wrestling squad was a back-to-back champ in 1992 and 1993 Click Here for article from The Oklahoman about wrestling titles The boys track team won state in 1964 and boys basketball won the crown in 1960.

Several athletes have achieved great success along the way. Howard Marsh of the 1916 football squad went on to play football at the University of Oklahoma, became team captain and was the only all-conference performer for the Sooners in 1922.

Bill Ayres was an all-state football player in 1945. He chose to play at Abiline Christian and was drafted by the Green Bay Packers. 

George Stokes was an all-stater in football and basketball while helping the ‘Cats to the hoops crown in 1960. He picked to play football at OU under Bud Wilkinson. The Tulsa World named him the best athlete out of Madill in a 2003 article.

Cline Johnson went on from Madill track to become an All-American runner for OU.

Kristi Walkup set the then state mark in the girls 800-meter event at the state meet in 1988. She went on to run for Baylor.

Mike Matlack was a member of the most recent Madill baseball team to qualify for the state tournament in 1991. He was drafted by the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Steve Elkins was part of that wrestling team that won consecutive crowns. He became only the seventh Oklahoma high school wrestler at the time to become a four-time state champ in 1995 while posting a 131-13 overall record. He wrestled at OU. 

Derek Hamilton was a member of the Southeastern Oklahoma State  baseball team that won the national championship in 2000.

Yesenia Avila was part of the national champion relay team for Oklahoma Baptist in Shawnee in 2009.

Darryl Fields was an all-state football player in 2009 that signed with Southern Methodist and was named to the freshman All-American team. 

*Click on names of  in this article for additional information specific to them


Top: Believed to be Madill Schools student body in 1914

Bottom: Believed to be MHS faculty in 1914

1914 Madill Schools


1914 Faculty